Why I started a research blog

The final impetus to start blogging was a tweet, which called my attention to a blog post by Melissa Terras. Triggered by her university’s open access policy she started to make her research papers, that have been published in subscription based journals, publicly available in an online repository. Furthermore, Melissa started blogging and tweeting about her research with a notable effect.

Although it took a while, I recently started to make my research publicly available. Today, I am starting to blog about my research. Mainly, this blog will cover topics related to my doctoral thesis, including posts about recent publications and research methodology.

Furthermore, I will try to make my research efforts publicly as I feel myself somehow connected to the open science movement. This will include that I will publish research data and give a justification for my research, e.g. justify why a research paper is how it is, and (sometimes) I will introduce additional findings.